h1

SEPTEMBER (AKA – MY BIRTHDAY MONTH, EXCELLENT; THE MONTH BEFORE HALLOWEEN, ROCK ON; AND THE FIRST BIG MONTH FOR HORROR DVD RELEASES, MOST IMPORTANT!!!!!)

August 27, 2012

Craig McGee

WOOOOOO!!!!!  I can’t help it…I know that round here at mrfrights.com we’re supposed to be Halloween-365, and I AM, I swear.  BUT, geeks everywhere also know that July & August are the months that us starving writers start hooking for loose change and saving as much of it as we possibly can and then every Tuesday in September we SPEND our asses off like we just got our first huge royalty check in the mail!!!

Now, my list here is, for the most part, more mainstream with a gem and a couple of intriguing Indies thrown in for good measure.  There’s a lil bit for everyone, but these are the highlights that I could dig up at the moment.  Plus, I don’t have near enough time, space, or energy to go through, research, and list all the “8 Best Horror Films” or “50 Greatest Horror Films” packs they’re putting out between now and Halloween, of which there are already several dozen listed online.  I’m sure you’ll find them on your own in the $5.00 bins at your local Wal-Mart soon enough.

 

September 4th:

PIRANHA 3DD

PIRANHA 3DD: Sequel to the wildly fun PIRANHA 3D that wound up falling way too short for me.  Even Busey and Hasselhoff looked embarrassed to be in this one and I can understand why – the writing team of Melton & Dunstan have embarrassingly screwed up some of my favorite franchises in the last few years, but that’s just one writer’s opinion.

HAVEN: The Complete 2nd Season – SyFy Original Series fans, rejoice!!  This one started off slow for me, but the 2nd season was much better in my opinion, especially when WWE Superstar Edge showed up for a story arc.  Yep, I’m THAT guy…

FRINGE: The Complete 4th Season – Started out really promising but then tried to out X-Files The X-Files and wound up tripping over its own mythology week after week, as most J.J. Abrams television series tend to do, and I was done with it after Season Two.  But for all you loyal fans out there that have kept it going this long, here you go!

 

September 11th (this is a BIG one):

CHILLERS: A creepy, well-told anthology flick from 1987 with five stories told to each other by strangers waiting on a late bus.  Well worth adding to your collection since it’s finally getting some DVD lovin.

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY Trilogy: To me, the most overhyped, boring “horror” flicks to come along since THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT, but obviously some people like them as each sequel seems to out-gross the last in terms of ticket sales.  For those of you that have been holding out, now you can finally get the first three in one package to gear up for the 4th hitting theaters in October.

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: The Complete 3rd Season – Kevin Williamson, one of my writing idols, is behind this yet I’m ashamed to say I’ve never watched a single episode.  I’ve heard nothing but great things though, so rest assured I will catch up very soon.

TERRA NOVA: The Complete Series – I couldn’t WAIT for this to hit the small screen…time-travel, dinosaurs, military involvement; what’s not to love??  Well, too much family drama that belonged on THE O.C. with other whiney teens and not enough dino carnage for me.  Obviously many others thought the same as it never made it past 13 episodes.  But I do know a couple of fans out there so if you’re reading this, here’s your chance to get the entire short-lived series.

CASTLE: The Complete 4th Season – My 2nd favorite show on TV (behind Psych and Californication, who are both tied for first) and it keeps getting better and better every season!!  It comes out just in time for you to refresh yourself before the 5th season starts, and you know this happy geek has already pre-ordered it!

PSYCH-O-WEEN

THE PSYCH-O-WEEN COLLECTION: Besides snagging the 6th season when it’s released, this is probably what I’m looking forward to most.  Includes 4 episodes altogether, 2 of which have never been to DVD – both horror-themed episodes from last season – “This Episode Sucks” and “Heeeeeere’s Lassie” and both of them instant classics.  No word at all that I could find on what the other two episodes are, but that will give us all something to speculate on and geek out about very soon!

 

 

 

 

 

September 18th (only two that matter):

SUPERNATURAL Season 7

SUPERNATURAL: The Complete 7th Season – The Winchester Brothers spend less of this season emoting than normal and more time kicking all sorts of demon ass, and that’s just fine by me!!!  My 3rd favorite show on TV saw last season spending most of the time with the nasty critters from Purgatory trying to go global with their lining us up as cattle for the slaughter to feed them for eternity.  Ending with the typical cliffhanger we’ve all known to love yet curse at until the next season starts, for me the 8th season can’t start soon enough!!

THE CABIN IN THE WOODS: I’ve blogged about this one, I’ve praised it endlessly, I’ve seen it several times and even so YES, I’m buying this one immediately.  THE SINGLE BEST EPIC FLIPPIN HORROR MOVIE OF THE LAST FIVE YEARS!!!!!  Not to everyone, but to me and most everyone I know that watched it.  With tributes to EVIL DEAD, intelligent writing and characters that turn horror as we know it on its ear, and a final 20 minutes that is so batshit crazy-awesome it STILL has to be seen to be believed…I still can’t get enough of it.  BRING IT ON!!!

 

September 25th:

STRIPPERS vs. WEREWOLVES: Yes, it’s just exactly as much fun as the title suggests.  Low budget and lowbrow humor abound.  Take it for what it is and enjoy the hell out of it!

THE TALL MAN: Unfortunately NOT a documentary on Angus Scrimm’s involvement in the PHANTASM franchise, but instead a Jessica Biel-starring ghost or demon child-snatching flick…or something.  Never heard of it till now, but it’s the hotness of Miss Biel, so I’ll watch it once.  At least heh heh.

VAMPIRE DOG: Wackiness ensues in fun for the whole family when a boy unwittingly adopts a wisecracking 600 year old talking vampire dog.  Okay, I’m not positive about the wisecracking part; it just seemed to fit in there.  I haven’t actually seen it, but now I’m curious…

ZOMBIE BABIES: You don’t really need a synopsis for this, do ya?  The title pretty much says it all and it just screams out something sick and twisted that I MUST watch.  So yeah, I’m ordering this one!

The Avengers

THE AVENGERS: Yep, I’m throwing this in here simply because it’s a Joss Whedon flick, and it’s the greatest superhero movie ever made.  Nuff said.  And yep, it’s already pre-ordered!

So there you have it!  Hope you enjoy some happy shopping next month, I know I will.  Especially after I sell a kidney or two to get my credit card balance down enough so I can snag all these suckers when they hit the shelves!  What??  I didn’t say they would be MY kidneys…

 

 

 

 

– Craig McGee

 

One comment

  1. Reblogged this on craigmcgee.



Leave a Reply

