h1

REVIEW: N.E.C.A. Jack & Sally Extreme Head Knockers

May 18, 2012

I’m not a big collector of Nightmare Before Christmas stuff, but I just bought the Funko Pop! Jack and Sally figures and I have a Jack Skellington dashboard driver talking figure. That along with seeing a different N.E.C.A. Jack Skellington Head Knocker that a friend bought made me look his up and I came across several versions including this duo. Because of the story behind these characters, I can’t really see buying Jack without Sally if they are both available.

The other versions looked amazing though and include Jack with his arms wrapped around a tombstone and one with him at a pedistal. They also varied in faces between his nice happy face and his scary face. Still, I looked at the price and for two Extreme Head Knockers and I couldn’t resist at just around $25 bucks. One of these Extreme Head Knockers goes for anywhere as low as $13 dollars and as much as $20 dollars, and that’s just when they are first released. If they are a hit, you can bet they will run upwards of $60 dollars or more. Needless to say, the nearly $25 bucks I paid for both of these was a quite a deal.

The cool thing about this is that it came as a double pack. Both Head Knockers came in the same box. I know they were shown together on the listing, even on Necaonline.com they are shown as one item, but for some reason I expected they would be in separate boxes. This is important to mention since it saves space and trash and probably saves on shipping costs.

These, as with almost all the other Extreme Head Knockers from N.E.C.A., are incredibly detailed. The heads are really huge, bigger I think that their other EHKs, and it’s great. The big heads make them look kind of goofy, especially Jack, which to me makes them more fun to have around. I wouldn’t mind having one of the scary face Jack’s but these ones are definitely family friendly and shouldn’t scare little kids. In fact, if you have a kid who loves A Nightmare Before Christmas and you’d like to get them a gift, this would be perfect!

The head wiggle is nice on Jack, on Sally it’s a little less so and that’s mostly because of her long hair I’m guessing.

My one and only issue with these is that they feel light. The other N.E.C.A. EHKs are heavy and made of a solid resin. These don’t feel like the same resin and they are very light weight. I set them on a tray stand and moved it with my feet to see their heads move and the whole statues moved about. When they can move off of a little nudging of where they are sitting, it means they can potentially fall off or fall over, so you have to be conscious of where you sit them. I’m not saying they are all that breakable, because they don’t really feel like they could break since the material they are made of is so different, but then again I haven’t dropped them to find out.

If you’re into the whole A Nightmare Before Christmas thing or you just like Jack and/or Sally, this is a great addition to a collection! Mr. Frights gives this three and a half screams; and you can pick these up on Amazon.com here.

– Mr. Frights

http://www.facebook.com/frights

 

Leave a Reply

