h1

American Horror Story – The Next Episode

October 13, 2011

So, two episodes in. I’m still not 100% attached to it. I keep seeing things in the show that come almost straight from other sources. I have picked up on movies like ‘The Shining’, ‘The Messengers’, ‘The Last House on The Left’, and ‘The Strangers’. While it’s being done in a spirit of creative difference, it’s not hard to pull out these “inspirations”.

Soon after the first episode I saw ‘The Messengers’ with none other than Dylan McDermott, one of the leads for American Horror Story. In ‘The Messengers’ we have a guy who moved to a new home [farm] with his family. [I’m pretty sure] He had cheated on his wife and they were all, including their daughter, trying to make a new beginning. The first episode of the show was almost exactly that. The family from ‘The Messengers’ deals with ghosts as does the family in ‘American Horror Story’.

I’m not saying I’m going to stop watching. There is much more to the show than similar plot points to familiar movies of the genre. The ghosts’ stories for instance, the fact that you’re not exactly sure who is a ghost and who isn’t, the daughter’s part in this story with regard to her father’s patients and the basement, just to name a few.

Still, while I’m sitting and watching, it’s hard not to pick up on these things and honestly it makes me a little bored with the show. I don’t want to be bored with the show and the rest of the show is exciting and mysterious and makes me want to keep watching. I just think if they are going to pull off such things as taking from other sources, they could do it a bit more subtley.

Of course this is just my opinion and what I’ve picked up on. I won’t deny that I could be seeing something that’s just not there or picking up on things I just happen to recognize and the similarities are a coincidence. That doesn’t change it from sticking out at me like a sore thumb.

The show is intense enough and there isn’t much to compare it to on television and of course it’s still fresh content regardless of what is being borrowed. I also enjoy the actors in this tale and the characters they are playing even though there is plenty of room for development here. I’m not bailing out just yet and I hope the show gains more audience and sticks around for a bit. But I also hope it gets less dependent on previously used materials and takes us in a somewhat original direction from here out.

 

– Mr. Frights

http://about.me/mrfrights

Leave a Reply

