h1

New Age of the Werewolf

March 31, 2011

So I just found out about this new series that MTV is doing called Teen Wolf – Click this link if you haven’t seen it. (http://www.mtv.com/videos/misc/636898/teen-wolf-trailer.jhtml#id=1660865). From what I see it literally has absolutely nothing to do with the campy movies from the 80’s. It looks kind of like a Vampire Diaries only with werewolves.

Teen-Wolf & Teen Wolf

While I know these teen angst type of shows turn some people off, I personally enjoy the really good ones. With Kevin Williamson working the Vampire Diaries series, it’s been very enjoyable & as far as I know, I’m not a teen, or a girl, or a teen girl. When something is well written and made interesting beyond just the teen issues thing, it deserves attention. I can’t say yet if Teen Wolf will be like this, but from the trailer it looks pretty good.

The best thing about this series though, is that its focus is on werewolves. It’s not a vampire story with a side of werewolves. I enjoy vampires immensely, but I also enjoy werewolves as much and I think it’s high time to have some werewolf centric entertainment. We had a good run with The Wolfman with Benicio Del Toro, but then it just ended there.

Wolfman

I for one am pretty particular about my werewolves though. You have all kinds these days, the True Blood wolves are just that, wolves, and not very impressive to me. Same with Vampire Diaries. Twihards and their version of werewolves are just giant wolves. Impressive in size and surprising, the transformation is pretty cool because it’s so fast, but otherwise still not hitting the mark.

The wolves from Van Helsing, cool transformation, but they looked really bad to me. Same with the Harry Potter werewolf, even less impressive than the Van Helsing wolf above because at least that one had muscles.

Even Being Human, a show I can’t get enough of, the wolf they have is close, but not quite up to my personal tastes.

Beinghumanwolf

I need something old school. I love most of the wolf types from the 80’s, they all had something impressive about them. American Werewolf in London was a very scary looking wolf, and Landis did it again with Michael Jackson’s Thriller.

Still, my favorite all time werewolf has to be from Werewolf The Series. I’m not sure how many people remember this show, but it hits at least the top ten of my favorite all time shows.

For anyone who doesn’t know what I’m talking about or those who might need a refresher, you can find some videos for it on YouTube. Here are a couple links to check out:

My Search

Show Prelude

You can actually watch pretty much all the episodes there on YouTube, and I’d recommend it.

The thing about this show is that it is set to a lot of the old school canon about werewolves. They used the pentagram on the hand, the way the moon affects them, the bloodline legend about how to cure the wolf curse. It was way ahead of it’s time. The transformation sequences are a bit 80’s style, but very cool none the less. The characters are interesting, the bad guy Scorsini and the hunter who is after Eric for killing his room mate in the opening of the show are both excellent through the whole series and the main character of course really does well.

The wolf itself is huge, intimidating and horrifying. There is no doubt in my mind that there ever was or will be a better werewolf design. Interested parties can also find out a lot of info on the show here: http://www.werewolftv.com/. It’s been too long since we’ve had a real quality story telling about just werewolves. Even looking over the past fifteen years of movie werewolves, it is hard to find anything worth mentioning aside from the new Wolfman movie I mentioned above. The sequel to American Werewolf In London – American Werewolf in Paris even disappointed when trying to recapture some of John Landis’ magic.

The werewolves of Underworld were ok, a little too scrawny (aside from the big one in the first movie), but again, it’s all in the details, not just the looks. The legend, the “rules” if you will have to be there. People these days kind of just think it’s cool to throw out these rules. Sometimes I can agree because some things just don’t make sense, but most things should follow the legend as it was laid out by the people who originated the stories. Call me crazy, I’m just kind of a stickler for that kind of thing. I can be flexible, but there’s a line man!

In this age of reboots and remakes, I’d love to have someone resurrect the Werewolf series from the 80’s. I think it could be even better now days. As much as I love vampires, and I want to keep them coming, I think it’s time for the wolf to get the spotlight. This new series could be the beginning of that & I hope it is.

Yes I know I’ve just written a whole blog about werewolves and never mentioned the Universal Monster original The Wolfman. I’ll do that now. Werewolves from back then were really cool. They took the idea that a man stays a man but takes on wolf features & qualities rather than becoming a wolf in body structure or in shape changing. I dig this a lot. I enjoy those films. But I think wolfman is a bit different from werewolf & so even though I made mention of the newer film earlier, I want to point out the distinction between them. With that in mind I guess you could also argue that the original Teen Wolf falls under the same category, which is another reason the new series has nothing to do with those movies.

So, which do you prefer? Are you excited about the new show? Is this the beginning of a new age in entertainment or just a fad? What do YOU think?

 

– Mr. Frights

3 comments

  1. Cry of the wolf, I hear the Howl!


  2. welcome to the hbajeremyhba staffer


  3. Thanks Jeremy & the rest of the HBA!



Leave a Reply

